Having worked in the travel industry for quite some time I had the opportunity to visit some pretty cool places; let’s just say I’m very proud of the way my passport looks these days.

A few of years back I travelled to South America where I got to witness Chile’s largest and most important Magellanic penguin breeding site onoff of Punta Arenas.

A population census of the island during 2008/09 recorded a penguin population of 63,000 breeding pairs, along with an assortment of other seabirds and wildlife. I’m not sure if I saw that many on the day I visited but what I did witness was impressive to say the least. One, two or 63,000 penguins, they’re just as cute in any number combination.

Magdalena Island Penguins

Magdalena Island Penguins

Magdalena Island Penguins

Magdalena Island Penguins

Magdalena Island Penguins

Magdalena Island Penguins

Magdalena Island Penguins

